Being a female writer in Australia is a tough gig. Tougher if you’re Aboriginal. That’s why when I joined the 2012 Australian Women Writer’s Challenge, I made sure I included Aboriginal writers in my list. It wasn’t hard, there are plenty on my shelves and it gave me the push I needed to read them sooner rather than later. I’m yet to finish the challenge with my review summary (it’s been a busy couple of months with upcoming work to be published in 2013), but I will get to it – eventually. In the meantime I thought I’d share this. It’s an informed wrap up of how diversity was reflected in the 2012 challenge, with Aboriginal writing front and centre (where it should be). Even if you’re not particularly interested in the wrap up per se – the links to reviews of Aboriginal writers and Aboriginal writing are worthy of a good look.
With thanks to Jessica White (http://www.jessicawhite.com.au) for reference to two of my reviews.

Leave a Reply

