Fluffy love: review URL Love

Let’s get one thing straight from the outset. I’m not a huge fan of traditional romance. The almost-holding-hands and occasional kiss just doesn’t quite do it for me. If there’s no bodice ripping by the third page I’m yawning – or yelling at the characters to just get their knickers off.

Which is why I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this little gem, URL Love. Yes, I have a story in it, and yes I have a vested interest to like it, but even without those things I still very much enjoyed chewing over these stories. They are a perfect accompaniment to a glass of wine and a late night read.

The premise of the collection is online romance. How do we seduce each other in the 21st century, now we have access to the likes of Facebook, Twitter and email? After reading these stories two subtle themes struck me. One: how we try to create our ideal persona online only to have to face the terror of meeting love interest in the flesh with all our warts on display. Who we are and who we think we are, are clearly two very different things. And two: how social media has made it easier to reconnect with a love interest of yesteryear. I think anyone over 35 can relate to that one.

Each story is unique in character and setting and I think it’s that diversity that makes the stories work together as a group. Generally it’s all about happy endings, with some LOL humour and a few hot scenes for perverts like myself. In fact, my story stands out against the others only because it’s much darker, it has a full sex scene (no holds barred people) and it’s the only one that ends sadly. (I’ll leave you to come up with your own theories about that.)

The anthology starts with a bang (literally) with Jacquie Underdown’s, Digital Intercourse. The title alone did it for me. Jacquie creates a self-assured hero that made me want to eat him (not literally):

‘His desire was palpable… warm, sensual energy that Sammy could touch and taste, so thick she could wring it between her hands…’

I couldn’t go past Buzz by Ros Baxter for another sexy treat. I always thought yoga retreats were hot-beds of sexual tension and this story proves it in spades. She describes the invisible lover as a ‘…dark streak of sexy menace…’ (love it!) and when he finally gets to our heroine this is how he does it (her) ‘One leg pushed between hers, opening them with bone-melting slow insistence.’

My absolute favourite though was Melanie Saward’s very cute Twitter tale, M@tchmaker. No sex in this one, but a whole lot of funny. The story is cleverly told in a series of revealing tweets and reflects exactly the kind of chat that goes on in that medium. It’s the last story in the collection and left me smiling as I turned out the light last night.

URL Love is fluffy, there’s no denying it. But it’s quality fluff, an easy pre-bedtime or public transport read to be consumed in small bites or swallowed in a sweet lump, like your favourite chocolate cake. And at $2.99 it’s a lot cheaper than the cake.

Available from all good e-tailers such as Apple and Amazon. Go grab one – you know you want to. 😉

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2012 AWW Challenge: Short Stories and Poetry « Australian Women Writers Challenge
  2. Dina
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 09:47:56

    Just downloaded on to my Kindle….. looking forward to reading your story Kate.

    Reply

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 17:01:18

    I’ m looking forward to reading this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

