Love sandwich

I am wedged between them, the meat in the proverbial sandwich, the glue that holds us all together. We drift, the three of us, into and out of sleep. A tiny hand reaches up to explore my face. It crawls across my cheek, like a fleshy spider, and comes to rest in the hollow of my neck. The dummy is suddenly spat out.

‘I love you , Mummy.’

I squeeze her body, so small and fresh, ‘I love you too.’

Awake now, she sits up. My eyes are lead weights. I am tired and I can’t bring myself to open them to the simpering early morning light. On the other side of me her father stirs. I feel him shift, resting on his elbow, probably gazing at his sleepy eyed cherub daughter.

She sings me a tuneless love song: ‘I love my Mummy, I love my Mummy, My dearest little Mummy, I love you…’ Laughter warbles in her voice. She is dressing me in morning rainbows, her smile bending the sunlight into prisms of colour. The spaces around me fill with her happiness.

My sweet-faced, sweet-natured daughter is a meditation on life. She reminds me to be happy. She compels me to live.

My eyes are still closed when a wet kiss appears on my cheek. Then a heavier, whisker kiss brushes my ear. She laughs. It is a game now. They take turns, a game of snap, one kiss followed by another and another. No one wins because no kiss is the same. Hers are sloppy, his are sharp.

I am the meat in a love sandwich peppered with kisses.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena G
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 10:30:41

    Love it!!….they are the best times of the day aren’t they…and you describe it so well!! You actually brought a tear to my eye!

    Reply

  2. D Simonelli
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 10:10:53

    This is exquisite, Kate. It says everything.

    Reply

  3. Margareta
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:46:05

    Love it Kate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

